University of Texas at Tyler Scholar Works at UT Tyler

Intercom

Marketing & Communications Records

6-16-1997

Intercom 1997 June 16

University of Texas at Tyler

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uttyler.edu/intercom

Recommended Citation

University of Texas at Tyler, "Intercom 1997 June 16" (1997). *Intercom.* Paper 26. http://hdl.handle.net/10950/3604

This PDF is brought to you for free and open access by the Marketing & Communications Records at Scholar Works at UT Tyler. It has been accepted for inclusion in Intercom by an authorized administrator of Scholar Works at UT Tyler. For more information, please contact tgullings@uttyler.edu.

June 16, 1997 Vol. 24, No. 12

Governor signs four-year bill

UNIVERSI

E

H K ((

Y

OF

ТЕХ

A S

ΑT

Gov. George W. Bush has signed into law House Bill 1795, legislation allowing UT Tyler to offer freshman and sophomore courses beginning in 1998. The governor signed the bill May 26.

The governor's signature capped a team effort throughout the current legislative session by the East Texas legislative delegation. The bill was introduced in the House by Representatives Ted Kamel and Bob Glaze. Senators Bill Ratliff and David Cain moved the bill through the Senate.

"When this legislation is implemented, UT Tyler will assume a position among the four-year universities of Texas and this will bring new opportunities and benefits for people throughout the entire region," President George F. Hamm said.





GIFT OF MUSIC — President George F. Hamm accepts an initial gift of \$74,000 on behalf of UT Tyler from Mrs. David (Jacqueline) Braithwaite to purchase a Steinway grand piano for the university's new R. Don Cowan Fine and Performing Arts Center. Also, Mrs. Braithwaite has pledged a total of \$80,000 in perpetuity to sponsor a university series of cooperative music and drama programs in the center with the East Texas Symphony Orchestra. Shown, left to right, are Hamm, Mrs. Braithwaite and John Gaston, president of the ETSO board of directors.



Dr. Joanna Martin receives Chancellor's Council Award

Dr. Joanna Martin, professor of education, is the university's recipient of the Chancellor's Council Award for 1997. The Chancellor's Council Award is given for excellence in teaching at components within The University of Texas System.

Martin is a charter member of the UT Tyler faculty, having joined the university in 1973. She has taught advanced developmental reading, research and current issues in reading, methods and materials in teaching reading, and seminar in reading and newspaper workshop.

As professor in the university's School of Education and Psychology she also has served as coordinator of the Learning Development Center, as certification officer and as coordinator of field experiences, and is chair of the Young Authors Contest. She has been a member of numerous university committees, an author of several grants, and a coauthor of many published articles in professional journals.

Her memberships include Phi Delta Kappa, International Reading Association, National Council of Teachers of English, and Kappa Delta Pi.

Martin holds an Ed.D. degree in elementary education from Oklahoma State University and an M.S.Ed. degree in elementary education - classroom teaching from Central Missouri State University.

Kulkarni selected Piper nominee

Dr. Arun Kulkarni, associate professor of computer science, was the university's nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Award for outstanding teaching.

Kulkarni is author of the text Artificial Neural Networks for Image Understanding (Van Nostrand Reinhold, New York, 1994), as well as published papers and book chapters. He recently was awarded a 1997 NASA Summer Faculty Fellowship in Aeronautics and Space Research.

His professional memberships include the International Neural Network Society and the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). He serves as faculty sponsor for the university's student chapter of ACM.

Kulkarni, who has been a member of the UT Tyler faculty since 1986, received Ph.D. and M.Tech. degrees from the Indian Institute of Technology in Bombay, India.



in the spotlight..

Dallas Cothrum, lecturer in history, recently lectured at Texas A&M Commerce on W. Lee "Pappy" O'Daniel. He also appeared on the KLTV-Channel 7 newscast May 2 regarding the "Republic" of Texas.

Dr. Thomas Crippen, professor of engineering, presented "Material Design for an Orthopaedic Hip Implant" at a materials science and engineering graduate seminar April 30 at the University of North Texas. Also, he is coauthor of a paper, "Post-Unfolding Optical Performance of Foldable IOLs," presented at the 1997 Symposium on Cataract, IOL and Refractive Surgery April 26 - 30 in Boston, Mass.

Dr. Olga Supek, senior lecturer in anthropology, has received a federal grant from the International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX) for a summer research project on youth and democracy in Croatia. The project, in cooperation with the Institute of Ethnology in Zagreb, will begin in July. A Research Fellowship from the Open Society Institute in New York will provide funding for her continuing research this fall. Also, Supek has had her article "Lost on the Way to Higher Education" published in *Proceedings of the 1996 Rio Bravo Association Meeting and Eighth Annual Texas-Mexico Higher Education Conference*, UT San Antonio.

Faculty Senate announced for 1997-98

1997-98 Faculty Senate members have been announced.

Executive Committee members are:

President — Vincent Falzone (At-Large Senator)

President-elect — Ross Sherman (At-Large Senator)

Past President — Roger Conaway (At-Large Senator)

Secretary - Len Weld

Senators from each school and the library are:

Business Administration

Senior Senator — Gary Clendenen Junior Senator — Len Weld

Alternate Senator — James Sellers

Education and Psychology

Senior Senator — Jacqueline Gerla

Junior Senator — Ronnie Livingston

Alternate Senator — Glenda Roberson Engineering

Senior Senator — Charles Alworth

Junior Senator — Allen Barger

Alternate Senator — David Beams Liberal Arts

Senior Senator — Robert Myers Junior Senator — Karen Powell Alternate Senator — Peter Phillips Nursing Senior Senator — Rosaline Olade Junior Senator — Gloria Weber Alternate Senator — Pam Martin Sciences and Mathematics Senior Senator — Ronald King Junior Senator — James Stewart Alternate Senator — Steve Rainwater Library Ex-Officio Senators Senior Senator — Marie Crowe Junior Senator — Marilyn Greene Alternate Senator — Beth Hogan



PERSONNEL UPDATE

SERVICE RECOGNITION

Lynne Bandy, benefits specialist, will celebrate 20 years of continuous service at the university on June 27.

Recognized for 15 years of continuous service are **Van Howard**, maintenance worker III, June 7, **Donna Roberson**, data systems supervisor, June 21, and **Melva Grissom**, secretary II, Sciences and Mathematics, July 6. Mark Kroll, professor and chair of Management and Marketing, celebrated 10 years of continuous service on June 1. Congratulations to Vicki Clark, secretary II, Education and Psychology, July 6, and Venita McDonald, library assistant III, July 13, for five years of continuous employment at the university.

UNIVERSITY HOLIDAY

Offices will be closed July 4 to observe Independence Day.

INTERCOM is published every two weeks during the fall and spring semesters, once a month during the summer term, for faculty and staff of The University of Texas at Tyler. Information should be submitted in writing to the News and Information Office, ADM 221. Deadline is noon Wednesday for publication the following Monday.