University of Texas at Tyler

Scholar Works at UT Tyler

Intercom

Marketing & Communications Records

7-20-1992

Intercom 1992 July 20

University of Texas at Tyler

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uttyler.edu/intercom

Recommended Citation

University of Texas at Tyler, "Intercom 1992 July 20" (1992). *Intercom.* Paper 100. http://hdl.handle.net/10950/3530

This PDF is brought to you for free and open access by the Marketing & Communications Records at Scholar Works at UT Tyler. It has been accepted for inclusion in Intercom by an authorized administrator of Scholar Works at UT Tyler. For more information, please contact tgullings@uttyler.edu.

M.S. degree in mathematics approved

A master of science degree in mathematics has been approved for UT Tyler by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, President George F. Hamm has announced. Courses in the program, approved earlier by the UT System Board of Regents, will be offered this fall.

"I am pleased that the Coordinating Board has approved our master of science degree in mathematics. This approval recognizes the thorough study our faculty has conducted through our strategic planning which identifies those programs most needed in our region," Hamm stated.

The master of science degree in mathematics will be a thesisoptional program with a minimum of 36 semester credit hours of graduate credit which may include a research project or thesis. A minimum of 24 credit hours must be in mathematics. The current master of science degree in interdisciplinary studies, with an emphasis in mathematics, does not offer the option of a thesis and requires fewer hours in mathematics.

The M.S. degree in mathematics will help meet the growing shortage for mathematicians in business, industry, government and education. The program is designed to provide a graduate level education for students who intend to teach at various levels, including professionals and teachers who desire to continue their formal education in mathematics; students who will seek or continue employment within the industrial sector; and students who intend to continue their education beyond the master's level.

Vol. 19, No. 14

July 20, 1992

IN THE SPOTLIGHT

Dr. Olga Fischer, associate professor of education, and Dr. Joanna Martin, professor of education, are co-authors of "Discover the Newspaper," a 13-part series of articles appearing in the *Tyler Morning Telegraph* and *Tyler Courier-Times* each Thursday, May 14 - Aug. 13. Fischer and Martin designed these articles to help East Texas parents use the newspaper as a resource for their children's learning across all subject areas.

Dr. Mac R. Moseley, School of Education and Psychology dean, participated in an annual workshop in special education sponsored by the Sunday School Board of the Southern Baptist Convention in Santa Fe, New Mexico. He recently was appointed as a consultant to the board's Division of Special Education and serves as a member of the publication review committee.

Dr. Judith Sutherland, assistant professor of nursing, was invited by author E. Varcarolis and publishers W.B. Saunders to submit her "Conceptual Model of Empathic Nursing Care" for publication in the 1993 edition of the text *Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing*. Sutherland's model will appear in the chapter on therapuetic communication.

Patriot award announced

Mrs. David (Jacqueline) Braithwaite has been named Patriot of the Year, President George F. Hamm has announced. Mrs. Braithwaite was selected for her continuing support of the academic and cultural life of the university, highlighted most recently by her \$500,000 contribution earlier this year toward construction of the Liberal Arts Complex and Center for the Arts at UT Tyler.

Mrs. Braithwaite has been a Tyler resident since 1978; however, her interest in the community began even earlier. Her husband, David, became president and chief executive officer of Nalco Chemical Company in Chicago in 1965. Howe-Baker Engineers, Inc., a whollyowned subsidiary of Nalco during the time that Dr. Braithwaite was Nalco president and CEO, built a research laboratory in his honor at its Tyler facility. Mrs. Braithwaite and her husband made frequent trips to Tyler during that time.

Following Dr. Braithwaite's retirement from Nalco, the couple lived in Mississippi and then in Florida. Dr. Braithwaite, who held a Ph.D from Northwestern University, continued his interest in research and joined with Howe-Baker (which had been sold by Nalco's new management) to form the Improtec company. After commuting between Florida and Texas for some time, the Braithwaites made Tyler their home in 1978. Mrs. Braithwaite has continued to be an active part of the community since her husband died in 1981.

Previous recipients of the Patriots of the Year award include Harold J. McKenzie, 1991; Mr. and Mrs. Jack White, 1990; Dr. Jim Vaughn, 1989; A.W. Riter Jr. and Isadore Roosth, 1988; Mrs. Mattie Alice Scroggin Baker and Miss Nancy Lake, 1987; Mrs. W.C. Windsor, 1986; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Spence, 1985; George W. Pirtle, 1984; J.S. Hudnall, 1983; and Mrs. Robert R. Muntz, 1982.

PERSONNEL UPDATE

NEW EMPLOYEES

Vicki Clark Secretary I UC 250, ext. 7053 Effective 7-6-92

Venita McDonald Library Assistant I Library/Periodicals, ext. 7345 Effective 7-13-92

SERVICE RECOGNITION

Melva Grissom, secretary II, School of Sciences and Mathematics, celebrated 10 years of continuous service at the university July 6.

Liabilities workshop set

Liabilities of persons employed in the criminal justice field will be the topic of a workshop to be presented July 27 by the Office of Continuing Education and the Department of Social Sciences' Criminal Justice Program.

"Liabilities for Criminal Justice Personnel" is scheduled 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. in the Robert R. Muntz Library. Rolando V. del Carmen, professor of criminal justice and law at Sam Houston State University's College of Criminal Justice, will lead the workshop.

One of the nation's top experts on the subject of civil liabilities, del Carmen is the author of several books and articles. During the past six years he has given nearly 200 presentations on criminal justice and law related topics, specializing in the legal liabilities of probation and parole officers.

For more information call the Office of Continuing Education, ext. 7147.



History scholarships awarded

Recipients of distinguished scholarship awards in history have been announced for 1992.

Larry D. Terry of Tyler has been awarded the Edwin Morgan Smyrl and Frank H. Smyrl Endowed History Scholarship, and Sue Diane Cloud of White Oak is recipient of the Phil Stacy Jackson History Scholarship.

The annual scholarships were established to encourage the study of history at UT Tyler, to recognize the student recipients and to honor the memory of the historians for whom they were named. Each scholarship provides a cash award; in addition, the students' names will be engraved on plaques honoring history scholarship recipients in the Department of Humanities.

INTERCOM is published every other Monday (excluding holidays) during fall and spring, and once monthly during summer sessions, for UT Tyler faculty & staff. Deadline for written material is Wednesday before publication in the Public Information Office, ADM 221.

The University of Texas at Tyler

3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Texas 75701-6699 • 903 / 566-7000

